MAA Call for Nominations for Award

The Mary P. Dolciani Award recognizes a pure or applied mathematician who is making a distinguished contribution to the mathematical education of K-16 students in the United States or Canada. This award, which includes a prize of $5000, is given annually at MathFest, the summer meeting of the Mathematica Association of America (MAA).  

Nominations for the 2017 award should be sent by September 1, 2016 to the MAA Secretary, Barbara Faires, at .  

Guidelines for nominations and a nomination form can be found at the MAA website:
A nominee must have received a Ph.D. in pure or applied mathematics, have a record of published research in pure or applied mathematics, and have a record of distinguished contributions to K-16 mathematics education.
Previous recipients include:
2012 William McCallum, University of Arizona
2013 Hyman Bass, University of Michigan
2014 Alan Schoenfeld, University of California at Berkeley

2015 Sybilla Beckman, University of Georgia