Karen D. King Excellence in Advocacy Award

Congratulations to Dorothy Y. White, the inaugural recipient of the Karen D. King Excellence in Advocacy Award.
Learn more about Dorothy.

The Board of Directors of the Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators has established the Karen D. King Excellence in Advocacy Award, to be presented once every three years at the Annual Conference.

The Karen D. King Excellence in Advocacy Award is intended to recognize a colleague for a unique contribution in advocacy that has made a significant and lasting contribution to mathematics teacher education, directly and indirectly. We define advocacy as the process of publicly supporting ideas or plans and/or influencing decisions. The nominee must have demonstrated commitment to advocacy in mathematics teacher education through one or more of the following:

  1. Levels: individual, community, organization, or political work.
  2. Outlets: conference, media, legislation, community outreach and organization, publications, etc.

We acknowledge there are a variety of actions that may constitute advocacy as people work in service of more equitable societal outcomes.

Read Dorothy Y. White's Bio

Nominate a Colleague

The deadline for nominations was September 1, 2020. Nominations are now closed.

Nomination Form


The nominee for the Karen D. King Excellence in Advocacy Award should be an active member of the mathematics teacher education community and have at least five years of commitment to mathematics teacher education. The nominee should have made unique contributions in advocacy in the field of mathematics teacher education. Unique contributions should be considered in the broadest sense possible.

NOTE: Nominations for this award are for individuals only. Group nominations will not be considered.

Documentation Required:

Please be sure that all items are in .pdf, .doc, or .docx format, and are clearly labeled with the name of the nominee.

  1. A current vita of the nominee.
  2. A letter of nomination from an established colleague documenting evidence that supports the nominee's contributions in the particular focus area (advocacy) for which they are nominated.
  3. Additional letters of support (no more than two) from individuals (e.g., colleagues within and outside of the individual’s institution, recent doctoral graduates mentored by the nominee) knowledgeable of the nominee’s contributions relative to the focus area. Letters with multiple authors are accepted.

Nomination Process:

AMTE members can nominate a mathematics teacher educator who meets the criteria of the award. Self-nominations will not be considered. Nomination materials should include those stated in each section above.

The committee will review applications in an electronic format; all application materials should be submitted as a single PDF file using the AMTE Award Nomination Form.

Nomination Form

Deadline for Nominations:

Nominations for the Karen King Excellence in Advocacy Award must be received by September 1, 2020.

Review Procedure:

The AMTE Awards Committee, a six-member committee, and a member of the Advocacy Committee will review the materials and select the award winner. The award recipient will be notified in September 2020 so that the person can have time to make arrangements to attend the AMTE conference.

Roll Over Process:

Nominators can select to have their candidates be considered for the Karen King Excellence in Advocacy Award up to four years (provided that the nominee is still eligible for the award). Since the award is only given every four years, excellence award candidates would have 2 chances to be selected. The individuals nominating the candidates will have the option to opt-in by selecting a box on the application to roll over their candidate to another year. If the nominator decided to opt-in, during the next awards cycle the nominator would be able to submit updated materials, however updated materials are not a requirement. If you have questions about the process, please contact the Associate Vice-President for Awards.


The award recipient will receive a plaque and be recognized at the AMTE meeting in the year in which he or she receives the award. The recipient of this Excellence Award will also give a featured presentation at the AMTE Annual Conference in the year he/she receives the award.