Professional Learning Division

Board Liaison : 

M. Lynn Breyfogle

Bucknell University

2017 to 2020

Farshid Safi

University of Central Florida


Dana Cox

Miami University


Holt Wilson

University of North Carolina at Greensboro


The primary areas of responsibility for the conference committee, led by the Chair, include the following:

  • Developing a call for presentation proposals.
  • Reviewing proposals and making decisions about program sessions, and
  • Ensuring the success of the conference.
2015 to 2018
David Barker, Illinois State University,
Dana Cox, Miami University,
Rick Hudson, University of Southern Indiana,
Courtney Koestler, Ohio University,
2016 to 2019
Robert Berry, University of Virginia,
AnnaMarie Conner, University of Georgia,
Enrique Galindo, Indiana University,
Catherine Schwartz, East Carolina University,
2017 to 2020
Jennifer Eli, University of Arizona,
Cathy Liebars, The College of New Jersey,
Julie Amador, University of Idaho,
Jane Wilburne, Pennsylvania State University, Harrisburg,

Julie James

University of Mississippi

2015 to 2018

Supports the membership by organizing information and opportunities for members to enhance their knowledge about, and practice of, mathematics teacher education.

2015 to 2018
P. Mark Taylor, Carson-Newman University,
Julie James, University of Mississippi,
2016 to 2019
Samuel (Sam) Eskelson, University of Northern Iowa,
Trena Wilkerson, Baylor University,
2017 to 2020
Sararose Lynch, Westminster College,
Patrice Waller, California State University Fullerton,

Karen Hollebrands

North Carolina State University


Develops initiatives to support new faculty in mathematics education.

2017 to 2018
Jeff Shih, University of Nevada, Las Vegas,
Maria Fernandez, Florida International University,
Beth Herbel-Esenmann, Michigan State University,
Keith Leatham, Brigham Young University,
Karen Hollebrands, North Carolina State University,

Barbara Swartz

McDaniel College

2016 to 2017

Recommends strategies, policies and activities related to increasing awareness and improving integration of technology in mathematics teacher education.

2015 to 2018
Steve Rhine, Pacific University,
Barbara Swartz, McDaniel College,
2016 to 2019
Rob Wieman, Rowan University,
Ann Wheeler, Texas Woman's University,
2017 to 2020
Pier Junor Clarke, Georgia State University,
Ryan Smith, Radford University,